Chevron Left
Back to Write Professional Emails in English

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Write Professional Emails in English by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.7
3,442 ratings
942 reviews

About the Course

This is a course to help you write effective business emails in English. This course is unique because each module will provide tips on writing more professional emails as well as lessons to improve your overall English writing skills. Therefore, you will improve your grammar and vocabulary skills for email writing and also improve your cross cultural knowledge to make you more powerful and successful in your business communication. You will look at different email formats to analyze tone, formality levels, and various organizational styles. You will be able to improve your emails of introduction, announcements, requests and emails that apologize or revise a request. In this course you will write and revise 4–5 emails, complete several comprehension quizzes and review the emails of other participants. By the end of this course, you will be able to • Improve your overall written English skills • See differences and similarities among the different email formats • Write more effective subject lines and email text • Apply various key language to different types of emails • Correct common errors such as punctuation and capitalization • Study tone and level of formality in emails • Understand how culture affects what is appropriate in a business emails • Write powerful business emails for professional needs...

Top reviews

JJ

Aug 31, 2018

I would suggest this course is the perfect place to learn about "how to write a professional email". And I appreciate and thanks Coursera team along with Georgia Tech Institute to provide this course.

EH

Jul 01, 2017

The best course i passed on Coursera, badly recommended for anyone seeking for professionalism,The course really discuss very important skill we should all have and it makes difference in our life

Filter by:

901 - 924 of 924 Reviews for Write Professional Emails in English

By Olesya K

Feb 21, 2018

Thank you very much for helpful tips during this course. It is a very good course for people, who is fluent in English. Most of the people enrolled in course didn't speak English, and didn't understand assignments. In description it says learners should be intermediate level in English, but people do not realize what intermediate level is in different countries. It would be helpful to include pretest for people who wants to enroll, so they don't waste their time. Most of the people need to learn basic English grammar first, then do this course.

By Abhinav D

Sep 08, 2017

Great

By Daniel B

Jul 26, 2017

A little more geared towards speakers whose English is an additional language. Some useful pointers throughout though!

By Anastasiia K

Oct 26, 2017

Course 1: I believe it was oversimplified. There is very limited information provided by the instructor in a very slow manner.

By Maria U

Jun 12, 2016

Great teacher, although I would rather need more examples of elaborate emails, that I could use at work.

Thank you!

By Gomes F

Mar 30, 2016

Unfortunately we can not submit our tasks with do Un upgrade in our account.

By Muhammad A S

Jan 31, 2017

Good Course

By Marisa F

Oct 10, 2018

Muy claro y bien estructurado.

By Detlef B

Jul 22, 2019

The curs give a good overview, how to write official emails. Somtimes the evaluator are not so friendly and gave bad votes without a reason. It will be apassably vocabulary assumed. All in all, it is a good curs, to bringing back the asics.

By KALYANASUNDARAM

Aug 07, 2019

Sir,

your ideia about the email drafting is excellent

By Alonso S A

Jun 20, 2016

Professional communication should be clear, correct, and effective. The course has helped me to improve these skills. Congratulations to everyone who took this challenge.

By Carmelo

Jun 08, 2016

Clear and essenzial focus on the main aspects

By Aleksandra S

Jan 24, 2019

Many rules are way out of date.

By Salem.Gharbi

Apr 07, 2016

it is good for non-English native speaker. + it is not free.

i liked most the additional material.

By Lucas B

Apr 17, 2016

The course is great however we have to pay to get all tasks or a certificated

By Rachel P

Apr 17, 2018

The name of the course should be: How to write BASIC Professional Emails in English. The instructions and assignments are very basic. You can complete every week in 30 minutes. The assignments are reviewed by students who don't speak proper English, but who are rating your assignment and cannot give any feedback on how to improve your emails.

This course is a waste of your money!

By Hillary H L

Jan 10, 2017

Geared towards ESL students. I had signed up thinking it was for native English speakers, but it was more of a English 101.

By Yingyi Z

Jun 04, 2016

This course contains quite some useful information, but overall it seems way too simple. Most of what it talked about were the basics and what common high school students would know. It could be much better if its depth could be made higher.

By jason

Nov 20, 2018

It was a good course, but the material and the details it covered were very short.

By Amaury D

Sep 21, 2017

So so .......it's not well organized.

By Rasha S

Apr 18, 2016

Very low material not enough examples ( full emails)

By Королев В С

Jul 19, 2017

хуйня

By Saleh A

May 03, 2019

i don't lik it .

By Alexandru I U

Apr 22, 2019

Lots of spiteful people who will lower your grades on purpose will be reviewing your peer graded assignments. So prepare to resubmit a stupid order cancellation email 3 or 4 times, because some 3rd-worlders will not give you the points you deserved. The sweet part is that you can't do anything about it, you can't contest their review.